Angebote zu "Truth" (7 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Free to Fall
15,90 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

From the author of Parallel comes a high-stakes romantic puzzler set in a near-future where everyone's life is seamlessly orchestrated by personal electronic devices, perfect for fans of Black Mirror. Fast-forward to a time when Apple and Google have been replaced by Gnosis, a monolith corporation that has developed the most life-changing technology to ever hit the market: Lux, an app that flawlessly optimizes decision-making for the best personal results. Just like everyone else, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn knows the key to a happy, healthy life is to follow what Lux recommends. When she's accepted to the elite boarding school Theden Academy, her future happiness seems all the more assured. But once on campus, something feels wrong beneath the polished surface of her prestigious dream school. Then she meets North, a handsome townie who doesn't use Lux, and begins to fall for him and his outsider way of life. Soon Rory is going against Lux's recommendations, listening instead to the inner voice that everyone has been taught to ignore—a choice that leads her to uncover a truth neither she nor the world ever saw coming. Imaginative and thrilling, this fast-paced story with two starred reviews is not to be missed! “Miller offers an intricately plotted, intellectually rich thriller that will please a range of readers, from those searching for a page-turner to those wishing to thoroughly engage the mind.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Engaging and thought-provoking, Free to Fall should appeal to a variety of readers with its blend of action, secrecy, and romance, and it provides excellent discussion opportunities.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.09.2020
Zum Angebot
Free to Fall
6,94 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From the author of Parallel comes a high-stakes romantic puzzler set in a near-future where everyone's life is seamlessly orchestrated by personal electronic devices. Imaginative and thrilling, this fast-paced story with two starred reviews is not to be missed. Fast-forward to a time when Apple and Google have been replaced by Gnosis, a monolith corporation that has developed the most life-changing technology to ever hit the market: Lux, an app that flawlessly optimizes decision-making for the best personal results. Just like everyone else, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn knows the key to a happy, healthy life is to follow what Lux recommends. When she's accepted to the elite boarding school Theden Academy, her future happiness seems all the more assured. But once on campus, something feels wrong beneath the polished surface of her prestigious dream school. Then she meets North, a handsome townie who doesn't use Lux, and begins to fall for him and his outsider way of life. Soon, Rory is going against Lux's recommendations, listening instead to the inner voice that everyone has been taught to ignore—a choice that leads her to uncover a truth neither she nor the world ever saw coming.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.09.2020
Zum Angebot
A Different Truth
4,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A historical coming-of-age adventure for readers of A Separate Peace and The Catcher in the Rye. '...a powerful and thought provoking tale that allows us to think about our moral decisions.' -Readers' Favorite Five Stars When a heinous crime is committed behind the secretive walls of a boarding school and Andy Olson decides to investigate, he's drawn into a conspiracy that reaches to the highest level, forcing him to choose between exposing the truth and protecting himself.In 1968 sixteen-year old Andy Olson's family ships him off to Palmer Military Academy. There, along with his best friend, Tom, he's plunged into a world where rules are everything and disobedience not an option.When Tom openly supports the peace movement, Andy grows increasingly irritated. He doesn't care about politics and the raging Vietnam War. Besides, messing with their bullying teammates is dangerous, underestimating fanatics like Officer Muller, the tormentor of plebes a mistake. It's hard enough to make it through each day, avoid counselor Beerbelly's spying eyes and extra marching. Andy plans to play a little football, visit Maddie, a townie with eyes like the Caribbean Sea and lie low until graduation.But the war has a way of reaching Andy, he couldn't have imagined. His privileged classmates with deep pockets and connections to the Dean call Tom a traitor. Maddie's brother, a Vietnam vet confined to a wheelchair, aims to stop Andy from seeing Maddie. And there's Sarge, a dedicated soldier turned teacher who takes an interest in Andy's career.When Tom is attacked and the school calls it an unfortunate accident, Andy decides to make a choice that will not only threaten his future but his very life.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.09.2020
Zum Angebot
Free to Fall
11,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

From the author of Parallel comes a high-stakes romantic puzzler set in a near-future where everyone's life is seamlessly orchestrated by personal electronic devices, perfect for fans of Black Mirror. Fast-forward to a time when Apple and Google have been replaced by Gnosis, a monolith corporation that has developed the most life-changing technology to ever hit the market: Lux, an app that flawlessly optimizes decision-making for the best personal results. Just like everyone else, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn knows the key to a happy, healthy life is to follow what Lux recommends. When she's accepted to the elite boarding school Theden Academy, her future happiness seems all the more assured. But once on campus, something feels wrong beneath the polished surface of her prestigious dream school. Then she meets North, a handsome townie who doesn't use Lux, and begins to fall for him and his outsider way of life. Soon Rory is going against Lux's recommendations, listening instead to the inner voice that everyone has been taught to ignore—a choice that leads her to uncover a truth neither she nor the world ever saw coming. Imaginative and thrilling, this fast-paced story with two starred reviews is not to be missed! “Miller offers an intricately plotted, intellectually rich thriller that will please a range of readers, from those searching for a page-turner to those wishing to thoroughly engage the mind.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Engaging and thought-provoking, Free to Fall should appeal to a variety of readers with its blend of action, secrecy, and romance, and it provides excellent discussion opportunities.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 22.09.2020
Zum Angebot
Free to Fall
6,39 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From the author of Parallel comes a high-stakes romantic puzzler set in a near-future where everyone's life is seamlessly orchestrated by personal electronic devices. Imaginative and thrilling, this fast-paced story with two starred reviews is not to be missed. Fast-forward to a time when Apple and Google have been replaced by Gnosis, a monolith corporation that has developed the most life-changing technology to ever hit the market: Lux, an app that flawlessly optimizes decision-making for the best personal results. Just like everyone else, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn knows the key to a happy, healthy life is to follow what Lux recommends. When she's accepted to the elite boarding school Theden Academy, her future happiness seems all the more assured. But once on campus, something feels wrong beneath the polished surface of her prestigious dream school. Then she meets North, a handsome townie who doesn't use Lux, and begins to fall for him and his outsider way of life. Soon, Rory is going against Lux's recommendations, listening instead to the inner voice that everyone has been taught to ignore—a choice that leads her to uncover a truth neither she nor the world ever saw coming.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 22.09.2020
Zum Angebot
A Different Truth
3,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A historical coming-of-age adventure for readers of A Separate Peace and The Catcher in the Rye. '...a powerful and thought provoking tale that allows us to think about our moral decisions.' -Readers' Favorite Five Stars When a heinous crime is committed behind the secretive walls of a boarding school and Andy Olson decides to investigate, he's drawn into a conspiracy that reaches to the highest level, forcing him to choose between exposing the truth and protecting himself.In 1968 sixteen-year old Andy Olson's family ships him off to Palmer Military Academy. There, along with his best friend, Tom, he's plunged into a world where rules are everything and disobedience not an option.When Tom openly supports the peace movement, Andy grows increasingly irritated. He doesn't care about politics and the raging Vietnam War. Besides, messing with their bullying teammates is dangerous, underestimating fanatics like Officer Muller, the tormentor of plebes a mistake. It's hard enough to make it through each day, avoid counselor Beerbelly's spying eyes and extra marching. Andy plans to play a little football, visit Maddie, a townie with eyes like the Caribbean Sea and lie low until graduation.But the war has a way of reaching Andy, he couldn't have imagined. His privileged classmates with deep pockets and connections to the Dean call Tom a traitor. Maddie's brother, a Vietnam vet confined to a wheelchair, aims to stop Andy from seeing Maddie. And there's Sarge, a dedicated soldier turned teacher who takes an interest in Andy's career.When Tom is attacked and the school calls it an unfortunate accident, Andy decides to make a choice that will not only threaten his future but his very life.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 22.09.2020
Zum Angebot

Ähnliche Suchbegriffe